Seriously, TIME?

Image

Unless you have been living under a rock lately, you saw the above cover of Time Magazine around Mother’s Day.  I don’t know how you all felt about it, but I was just shocked at the photograph.  I am not dumb…I realize that many moms breastfeed for 2-3 years…but I couldn’t help but be taken back by this cover.  It was just too much….the kid looks like he’s a first-grader!  Seriously, if a kid can say “Hey mom, can you please whip your tit out,” he/she MIGHT be too big to be breastfed.  Just a thought.

My youngest older sister has a two year old girl (named ‘S’), and she is still breast-feeding.  It’s bothered me for a while, although it’s really none of my business and I really shouldn’t care.  ‘S’ eats whatever she wants during the day, including regular milk/chocolate milk/juice/tea/etc, but when it’s time for bed, she has to have my sister lay in bed with her with her breast out.  To me, it’s obvious that it’s a comfort/security thing for S.  Maybe even for my sister, who is a single mom and her kid is her life.  Either way, it just doesn’t seem normal to me.  When I ask my sister about when she plans on stopping, she just says “People in Europe breast feed for 4-5 years (I don’t even think this it true lol) and that ‘S’ will let her know when she wants to stop.

I guess I just don’t get it!  I plan on breastfeeding if I can, but I can’t imagine wanting to do it for more than a few months.  Maybe even 6-8 months, who knows…but 2+ years?  If it’s just for the nutrients, why not just pump and put it in a sippy cup?  Otherwise, what is it all about?

I have opinions on these things, but I know they could change when I actually am blessed with my own child.  For now, here are a few things I plan on doing/not doing (for record…and let’s see if they change):

1.  I would love to breastfeed.  I have no idea how long I’ll do it if I can, but my guess is 3-6 months?

2.  I do not want to sleep with my child (my youngest niece…2..has never slept in her crib)!  I plan on having a baby in my room in a sleeper or something for maybe a month or two, but after that I want him/her in his/her own room.

3.  I’m ok with pacifiers…but I’d like to be done with them by 2yrs old to ensure it doesn’t affect development/teeth

4.  I don’t want to spank, if it can be avoided.  If NOTHING ELSE works then I’ll consider it, but hopefully not

I really wanted to list 5, but my brain isn’t working.  =)

Categories: Pop Culture | Tags: , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Seriously, TIME?

  1. Holly Tolbert

    I 100% agree with you on the breastfeeding. I saw that cover and I was like GROSS! Poor kid is going to grow up one day and see that and then go to a shrink!

  2. I breastfed Bro until almost 9 months, and he weaned by himself. I was sad at first, but he was ready. With Oli, I breastfed until almost 6 months. Unfortunately, it was more my decision to stop than his this time because of certain circumstances, and he got sick for the first time then and everything seemed to have a snowball effect. Anyway, ideally, I would have liked to have breastfed both boys for a year, but it didn’t work out that way for me. I know plenty of moms who are breastfeeding babies way beyond a year. That’s not for me. I am thinking back to when Bro weaned himself, and he was eating all kinds of solids at that point, he was walking (at 8.5 months), he quickly became very active and started becoming a little boy rather than a baby. I can’t imagine trying to have BF him as he became that active little boy. Kudos to those that can make it to a year or beyond, but it wasn’t for us. And selfishly, it was nice to have Aaron helping out with feedings and not having to rely solely on me. But I am so, so thankful, and happy, for the months I nursed both boys, and the bonding was great, but I am also okay with the ages they stopped. On the pumping issue, sometimes it is a lot harder for moms to pump (and it can be the other way around for some, where it’s harder to BF but easier to pump). Having said all of this, I can’t imagine nursing Bro when he was this age – no way! 🙂

  3. We don’t spank, either. It works for our family. We use a count method and time out, and other things. No spanking, though. And we did co-sleep with both boys. Most friends didn’t co-sleep with their babies, though. Oli’s been in his crib since mid-March.

  4. your ideals on parenting sound just like mine. I’d like to breastfeed/pump for a year ideally.
    in that article it talks about breastfeeding after 2 yo is more of a social thing and doesnt provide much/any benefit for the child.
    my coworker has a 18 month old who still bfeeds and her other coworkers give her hell about it, me i don’t care so much. i think it’s a bonding “security blanket” for both baby and mom!

    PS that time lady seems wacko, needing 15 minutes of fame or something!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

