Chick-fi-Lame

Before you start screaming “Freedom of Speech” and “I just like their chicken,” let me explain my viewpoint.  For the record…and just so we are all dealing with the FACTS and not some nonsense you read from a FB friend, let me directly quote for you what Dan Cathy, President of Chick-Fil-A, recently said:  “I am supportive of the family- the biblical definition of the family unit,” and “I pray God’s mercy on our generation that has such a prideful, arrogant attitude that thinks that we have the audacity to redefine what marriage is all about.”

First off, let me explain why this ‘biblical definition of the family unit’ is irritating to me:

  1. In my world, a marriage consists of people who love and support one another.  Period.  It has nothing to do with color…or sexuality…or gender…or ethnicity…etc.
  2. Which definition of the ‘family unit’ is he referring to? The one where the women are not allowed to talk back/speak?  The one where the man is allowed to have several wives/concubines?  The one where I was raped and had to marry the rapist?  Or maybe the one where my I’m forced to marry by widowed husband’s brother?  Yes, I realize that these definitions come from the Old Testament…but isn’t all the scripture against homosexuality also in the Old Testiment?  Let’s talk apples to apples, right?  I guess I just don’t understand how some ‘Christians’ choose to stand up for certain causes (against gay rights, for example) and throw around Bible verses to ‘back them up,’ but when a cause/issue isn’t something they completely agree with they just COMPLETELY IGNORE that section of the Bible.  It’s completely ridiculous.

Secondly, when Mr Cathy prays for God’s mercy on all of us who believe in equality, he points out that we all have prideful, arrogant attitudes.  So just because I don’t agree with him/his section of the Bible he wants to quote…I’m prideful and arrogant?  I guess I just can’t see the correlation here.

Overall, seeing my Facebook feed today was very disappointing.  I saw everything from “Hell yeah, I’m eating at Chick-Fil-A to support my free speech,” to “I have no problem with gays, I just like good chicken.”  Y’all are missing the fucking point.  You going to Chick-Fil-A today has nothing to do with showing support to free speech and everything to do with FUNDING Dan Cathy and his/his family’s beliefs.  Yes, that is what you are doing.  Think about it.  To help you conservatives out there, imagine that McDonalds came out today and announced that people against abortion are close-minded and they/their customers are helping to fund abortion clinics/stem-cell research.  Would you jump on facebook and scream out “Free Speech!  I’m heading to McDonalds!”  I doubt it, because they are not backing an issue you support.  Do you get my point?

All that being said, if you are going to Chick-Fil-A in support of their anti-equality message….and you know that….this message is not for you.  I don’t agree with you on this, but I respect your opinion and I respect that you can own it.  If, however, you are one of the ones saying ‘you don’t care, you just like chicken’ or ‘I’m supporting free speech, that’s it”…..then you are a douche.  Chick-Fil-A has MADE this their issue…and there really isn’t any in-between when it comes to how you feel about marriage equality.  You are in, or you are out……so own it and don’t throw empty words or religion out to try to support your bigotry.

I hate that my first post in over a month is dealing with this, but I came home today after seeing my FB newsfeed and just had to give my two cents.  I have a few other updates to give, but not today…..more within a week, I promise!!

Categories: Pop Culture | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Chick-fi-Lame

  1. Chick-Fil-A has donated millions of dollars to organizations who actively work to oppress gays and lesbians. That directly includes me. It’ll be a cold day in the deep fryer before I give CFA another dime of my money or eat their sandwiches. I’m calling them out for what they are: homophobic haters hiding behind a misinterpretation of the Bible.

  2. Holly Tolbert

    As you clearly know I am a Christian and believe that God’s word IS the Bible (just my belief). As you know I am not perfect nor is any other Christian (or any human for that matter)…kind of the whole point on why we believe God sent Jesus down here. BUT, and this is a big BUT…who am I to say what you or anyone else does is wrong. The last I heard in the Bible it says that judging others is a sin. I love all these people coming out of the woodwork to scream “freedom of speech”. That is NOT what this is about. This is about where he is giving his money. I was sick to my stomach all day on August 1st of these people that stood in line for hours. The Jesus I pray to would not have been in line with them. He would have been over consoling the gay person that felt like shit that day. I got into an argument with my in-laws about this. They stood in line at Chic-Fil-A for over 1 hour and sent me a picture. I wrote them back and said I sure wish so many people would come out and spend that amount of time on helping to fight child sex trafficking instead of trying to take the rights away from someone they do not know. It just baffles me. Come on people. Let’s get together on making something better….what do you think that same sex marriage is going to hurt? The biblical definition of marriage is a man and a woman, however it is also a man that doesn’t cheat on his wife, it is also a man who loves his wife more than his own body and a woman that respects her husband. I am sorry to tell you, but this was compromised WAY before gay rights came about. When I first read about this whole Chick-Fil-A thing I just thought he was saying he didn’t believe in gay marriage. I thought, ok, big deal, so he doesn’t believe in it, it’s his right. I had no idea bout where he was putting his money. Then when all those people gloated about going to Chick-Fil-A, it made me sick, just sick. Ok, I am done venting. Thanks for posting this.

  3. Holly Tolbert

    And one more thing. It says in the bible that you shouldn’t get a divorce. So should we take the rights away for a divorced couple to ever get to marry again? It says you shouldn’t commit adultery so should they have to divorce and never get married again??? UGH!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

