Q is for Quilt

So…how many quilts do you have in YOUR home?  2?  3?  Maybe even up to 5?  Well, I’d be willing to bet that I have you beat.  Let me explain-

I come from a VERY low-income family (tracking back on both sides for as long as I can).  I grew up in rental homes and trailer houses for the first 13 years of my life, until my dad finally built us our own home out East Hwy 12.  We built out there because my Grandma and Grandpa Anderson were out there, and they had land that my dad was able to build on.  He may have bought it…they may have given it to him…I dunno and I don’t ask b/c it’s not important.  My Grandpa was a farmer and could, on just about any day, be found walking the land and cutting down thistles or fixing fence.  My Grandma was the local Avon lady and could be found at home either boxing people’s’ orders or sewing in her recliner.

Grandma Anderson was always in charge of Christmas, and each year all of us grandkids would the following- a box of Avon stuff (it always varied, but I distinctly remember many times that it contained roll-on deodorant, costume jewelry, make-up, etc) and a home-made quilt.  Growing up, I thought these were the worst gifts ever and I was never very excited about them.  This makes me really sad, because as an adult I now know  how much time and effort was put into each quilt….and I realize that the box of Avon was done to save money and for no other reason.  Makes sense now, but as a kid I remember being disappointed.

Long story short, I have about 15 home-made quilts from my G-ma Zuma.  All of them are different, and I definitely have my favorites, but I cherish them all.  I wish she was alive for me to tell her that, but she’s not.

Here are a few pics of the ones I use most regularly:

This one is my absolute favorite.  It’s light and colorful and super soft:

This one is smaller and is perfect for the plane or a car ride:

This is one I take outside for picnics or concerts, as the material is really heavy and thick:

And finally, this is my t-shirt quilt that I had made (Grandma didn’t make this one) a few years ago.  I had about 50 t-shirts I just couldn’t get ride of due to one reason or another, so I figured having a quilt made out of them was the smartest thing to do….and I love it!

Categories: Family | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Q is for Quilt

  1. Heather

    I love the quilts, and I think it is so special that you have kept them all these years even though at the time you didn’t see the full attachment/value of them. I am sure your Grandma knew that you would one day grow to love and appreciate them. After all, we are all kids and then we grow up and it’s these kinds of gifts that really mean the most. Also, I am digging the t-shirt quilt. I really, really want to have one of these made for Aaron someday and for both boys out of their shirts. I keep telling myself that I can do it myself one day. We will see – it looks like a lot of work, but I love the concept and think it’s a great way to repurpose all those shirts “from back in the day”.

  2. I ♥ quilts. I want to make my own at one point, but I have one that my great-grandma made for me and an afghan that my Nana crocheted. I love them so much.

    I’ve seen the first one before and fell in love with it, too.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

