June 14th- First Job

June 14th- What was your first job?

I’ve been working for as long as I can remember.  Seriously!  When I was a young kid, my dad would take me to work with him (he did construction, such as remodeling homes) as his gopher.  I never understood why he called me his gopher until I was older….and it was apparent that I was have to “go- for this and then go-for that” for him.  =)  I was a tool runner, or I’d sweep sawdust and keep the area as clean as possible so that at the end of the day we could get out of there as quickly as possible.  =)  I remember lots of sawdust and listening to the oldies station while we worked.  I hated it at the time, but now I look back and am glad I got that time with my dad.  The only ‘pay’ I got from this job was stopping at Braum’s on the way home for an ice cream cone…but that was worth it to me!

When I was around 13 I started babysitting for some of the local country kids.  That was my first pay job…and I loved it.

I suppose my first ‘real job’….and perhaps my favorite job to date….was working at Rocky Branch Marina.  I started when I was 16 and worked for about 3-4 summers.  My job attire?  A swimsuit, with shorts on top and a tank top.  My work duties?  Mainly helping boats as they came into the marina.  I’d help them dock….pump their gas….run and get them smokes/drinks/ice…and just keep them happy.  With all the drinking done on the lake, you can imagine the tips I made and the offers to go out boating that I received!  It was a lot of fun….and I had the best tan of my life!  Besides those duties, I also dealt with the pontoons that were rented out- I’d gas them up, go get them and drive them to the meeting point, clean them up after the renters were done, etc.  Lots of fun!!!!!

 

 

 

Categories: Blog Games, Work | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

