June 18th- Insurance and Infertility Treatments

June 18th Prompt- If your insurance covered infertility treatments at 100%, unlimited attempts – what would you try and for how long?

I hate insurance companies with a passion.  It always seems that if there is a way around covering something expensive, they will find it.  Take my jaw surgery, for example.  After I had braces and straighted my teeth, my bite was SO off (severe underbite) that I couldn’t chew correctly at all.  I couldn’t take bites of large things- such as whole fruits, corn on the cob, sandwiches, etc.  Now how my insurance company could deam that jaw surgery was “elective” and “cosmetic” is beyond me, but that’s what happened and that’s why I had to pay $20k out of pocket.

I am also very disgusted with my insurance company’s policies towards infertility treatments.  They cover appointments and most of the basic perscriptions (such as Clomid, Progesterone, Letrozole…with a copay, of course), but no procedures.  IUIs ended up costing me between $1,200-$1,500 a pop, depending on how many ultrasounds I had to have leading up to the actual insemination date.  Injectable fertility meds are not covered at all either, so add another $500 for each IUI that was done with FSH shots.   I have had 5 IUIs over the past year and a half….and I would have done one more before considering IVF.  I had already looked into IVF at the time of my last IUI, and we were looking at having to pay at least $12k -$15k out of pocket for one round…..and I would have done it if IUI #5 (and then #6) hadn’t worked.

If my insurance covered infertility treatments 100%, I definitely would have moved on to IVF after the 4th or 5th IUI.  And I would keep trying as long as the doctors told me there was still a good chance.  We would have moved on to IVF regardless of insurance, but there is no way we could have afforded more than 1-2 cycles.

 

 

Categories: Blog Games, Infertility, Injectables, Insurance, IUI | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

