Our Little Gummy Bear- 10 weeks, 5 days

Hottinger Ultrasound 10w5d

Yup, that’s our little gummy bear as of this morning- measured in at 10 weeks and 5 days, with a heartbeat of 167.  This was the first ultrasound where I could really see distinguishable features, such as the arms and legs.  So cool!  And let me tell you, this little gummy was kicking and dancing and doing flips pretty much the whole time- very active!  It was awesome.

 

When the ultrasound tech started the ultrasound I was immediately freaked out.  As soon as that dildo cam went in, I saw two sacs (like normal, since there are two babies)…and they were the same size.  I knew that shouldn’t be the case since in the last appointment I was told we’d lose Baby A for sure, but that’s what I saw.  As soon as I saw this, the tech started asking me really off the wall questions….like she was trying to distract me or something.  It was so weird!  I mentioned it to Chris after, and he said he felt the same way, like she was trying to get me to focus on her and not the ultrasound for some reason.  Ends up, I think she was just trying to distract me while she took her time on Baby A and did its measurements and what-not.  She probably didn’t want me crying on her again.  As soon as she moved on to Baby B, we could see the increased size immediately and that’s when the tech finally stopped talking about nonsense and started talking about the wild child in my belly.  That’s when I calmed down….

 

So, all is good with Baby B….and actually I’m finally started to get excited again.  I’m actually ok most of the time, as long as I don’t have to talk about Baby A in person or anything.  Hopefully it will just continue to get easier and easier.  This appointment ended my care at Mercy with Dr. Pappas, as he’s officially ‘retired’ from labor and delivery as of Sunday.  I’m sad I can’t stay with him for the entirety of my pregnancy, but I’m feeling good about my other options.

 

I’ve decided to go see Dr. Gorman in Fayetteville at Willow Creek.  I have my first appointment with the clinic on July 3rd, but that appointment is just to discuss financials (luckily my insurance covers 100% at this facility), take a pregnancy test (lol at this point) and schedule the first ‘real’ appointment with the Doc.  I’m REALLY hoping to get in soon from there, as I’ll be 12 weeks next week and want to have my big 3 month scan and all the testing done before I head to New Zealand on the 22nd.  Fingers crossed…..

 

For now, here’s some updates on the development/symptoms/etc:

 

Baby is the size of a PRUNE.  Gross… I hate prunes.  At this point, the baby has working arm joints, and her cartilage and bones are forming.  The vital organs are fully developed at this point, and they are starting to function.  This week is also when fingernails and hair start to appear- crazy!  She’s already swallowing, and she’s also kicking up a storm (as seen on the ultrasound today, although I can’t feel it for a few more weeks yet).  As for me:

How far along? 10 weeks and 5 days

Total weight gain:  +1 lb

Maternity clothes? Not needed yet, although my jeans are very tight and I prefer to wear yoga pants 100% of the time

Stretch marks?  No new ones. Ha!

Sleep:  My sleep has gotten much much better.  I have to get up 3-4 times a night to pee, so that sucks, but I can go back to sleep easily

Best moment this week:  My ultrasound today- our little nugget finally LOOKS like a baby….and she was so active!

Miss Anything? Yes- vodka.  Especially missed it this weekend while at a concert in Kansas City.  I still had a blast, though!

Movement:  Not that I can feel

Food cravings: Pancakes.  Skittles.  Chocolate milk.  Chinese food.

Anything making you queasy or sick: Haven’t had a day of morning sickness yet (knocks on wood), but there are days where I feel a little ‘off’ or get a somewhat sicky feeling if I’m hungry

Gender prediction: Not yet, but I won’t lie….really hoping for a girl

Labor Signs:  Not for a long long time I hope!

Symptoms:  Bloated…tired…sore nipples

Belly Button in or out?  In

Wedding rings on or off?  On

Happy or Moody most of the time:  Pretty normal I think.  Been a tad depressed over Baby A, but generally pretty ‘even’

Looking forward to:  Getting the 3 month testing/results done and finding out everything is ok with Baby B….

Next appointment:  July 3rd appointment, but won’t have ultrasound.  =(  Hopefully next ultrasound will be week of July 9th or 16th at the latest

 

Categories: Miscarriage, Pregnancy, stress, TTC, Ultrasound | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Our Little Gummy Bear- 10 weeks, 5 days

  1. ❤ love the update!
    Dr. Gorman is a sweet, sweet person!

    • Did you go to him, Apes? I’ve only heard good things. Did you deliver at Willow Creek? I’d love a review if you want to message me!

  2. Sara

    so cool!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

