June 27th- What do you want to be when you grow up?

June 27th Prompt- When you were younger, what job(s) did you want to have?

The only job I remember wanting when I was little was to be a lawyer.  I’m pretty sure I only wanted to be a lawyer because I felt like they made a lot of money and that was important to me (remember I grew up in a household with NO money, so my focus was not dealing with the same issues/problems).  In high school I was a part of the Mock Trial team, and in college I did debate for several years.  I 100% planned on going to law school….in fact, I majored in English because my advisor told me that it would prepare me well for law school.

What changed?  I fell in love.  Sounds silly, but it’s true.  You see, I am very competitive.  4 siblings (including one on a pedestal just a few years older than me) will do that to a person.  Anyway, when I do something, I not only want to do it well….I want to do it the best.  I graduated High School with a ridiculous GPA (funny I can’t remember it now..something like a 4.3, which in 1999 was super high).  I did the same for my bachelors degree and my masters degrees.  It’s just how I am.  Anyway, when I fell in love all of my priorities changed.  I knew that if I was going to go to law school I wouldn’t have time for anyone or anything besides law school.  And I knew that after law school, if I was going to be the best in my field I would have to be 100% dedicated to my career.  And frankly…after meeting Chris….that wasn’t an option anymore.

Categories: Blog Games, Work | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “June 27th- What do you want to be when you grow up?

  1. Sara

    no doubt you chose right 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

