18 Weeks and Counting

I know I promised you more updates last week, but work was crazy after being out, and then a trip to Texas for work popped up, so long story short I am just now getting around to posting.  I’m currently in Texas (been here since Monday) and am here until Friday.  Friday morning I fly from Dallas to Miami with two of my girlfriends for a girls weekend.  We are going to get in some beach time…go eat some good food…and then go see Justin Timberlake and JZ!  WHOOT WHOOT!  I’m so excited.  I’ll get home late on Sunday….and I’ll be ready!

So…this week in baby news…18 weeks!

 

The Bump website says it’s the size of a sweet potato:

The Baby Center says it’s the size of a bell pepper:

“Baby is the size of a sweet potato!  He is about 5.6 inches long and about 6.7 ounces now, and he keeps growing rapidly.  (That’s why you are probably feeling so hungry!) Can you believe he is yawning, hiccupping, sucking, and swallowing?  And he’s twisting, rolling, punching, and kicking too!”

How far along? 18 weeks

Total weight gain: As of last week I was down 3 lbs (which was up 1 lb from my last appointment).  I expect to really start gaining soon, though…been eating a LOT more over the past week!  I’m always starving!

Maternity clothes? Bought some, but not wearing yet.  I AM wearing loose clothes, though….everything is tight on my belly

Stretch marks?  No new ones.

Sleep:  Very difficult.  I lay in bed for at least an hour actually tossing and turning and trying to go to sleep.  I probably fall asleep about an hour in…and then I’m up 2-4 times during the night to pee.  My best sleep starts around 6am, so if I can sleep-in, awesome.  If I have to get up and go to a meeting or something, damn it sucks.

Best moment this week: Nothing much this week….my uterus is hardening a lot and I can feel it, which is weird…but that’s it.  Last week, however, was a big week.  Chris and I did an elective ultrasound to determine gender….and IT’S A GIRL!!!!!  That’s a whole other post for a different day, but all I can say is that I’ve never been happier.  She was flipping around and blowing kisses and sucking her thumb while we watched…it was incredible.  And the place even gave me a little plastic heart with her heartbeat recorded in it…I can listen any time I want.  So happy.

Miss Anything? Sleeping well.  Cocktails.

Movement:  Not yet.  REALLY hoping to feel her sometime in the next couple of weeks!  Could be any day!

Food cravings:  Chocolate milk.  Sweets…most kinds, lol

Anything making you queasy or sick: Nope.  Mexican food is of no interest to me, still….just sounds awful.

Gender prediction: GIRL!!

Labor Signs:  No, thank you.  I did get some sudden cramps at work this morning that totally freaked me out…but they went away and I didn’t bleed or anything, so I’m calmer now.

Symptoms:  Just tired…and hungry.

Belly Button in or out?  In.

Wedding rings on or off?  On

Happy or Moody most of the time:  I have honestly never been happier in my entire life.  Ever.  I’m Mary Fucking Poppins!

Looking forward to:  Getting the ‘all good’ on my bloodwork this week (should hear back by Friday).

Next appointment:  August 28th- the big 20 week scan where they check for all the scary stuff.  Can’t wait to not only see our baby girl, but hopefully hear that she’s as perfect as we think she is.

Categories: Pregnancy, Ultrasound | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “18 Weeks and Counting

  1. Oh I’m so glad you updated!! I’m so excited for you all!!!!!

  2. Yay, congrats!! I’m 20 weeks now and I started to feel a LOT of movement last week, so you should be feeling it soon! (Actually, little guy is rolling around a lot right now as I type this! It never gets old!)

    I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m never going to be able to get a good night’s sleep again…not for a few years at least! lol 😉

  3. ♥♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

