6 months? Are you serious? WK 23

Did you know that when I hit 22 weeks last week, I also hit my SIXTH month of pregnancy?  Seriously- check out this chart:

chart

It does not seem possible to be in my 6th month.  I remember several weeks just crawling by, but now looking back it seems like it has flown by.  It’s wild.

Not much new happened in week 22.  Baby girl was estimated to be the length of a Barbie Doll, which I found amusing.  As of now, though, I’m at 23 weeks!  Here is this week’s update:

Baby is the size of a grapefruit!  (I wonder how big my uterus is, though, because it feels much bigger).  At 23 weeks, your baby is getting bigger. He’s about 10.5 to 11.8 inches long and weighs 12.7 to 20.8 ounces.  Plus, he’s getting cuter!  Ears start to develop and his face and eyes are forming. He’s more aware, too, and is listening to your voice and your heartbeat, as well as loud sounds, such as cars honking and dogs barking.  You may also feel your baby move when he hears something familiar.

How far along? 23 weeks

Total weight gain: I haven’t checked since my last appointment, so no telling…I assume I’ve gained at least another 2 lbs or so!

Maternity clothes? I am still in my fat jeans, but I’m wearing a couple of maternity shirts.  I think they help me look more like I’m pregnant and less like I’ve just gained some weight…so that’s good.  I’m embracing the belly…bring it on.

Stretch marks?  No new ones

Sleep:  Can’t seem to get enough.  I prefer to sleep on my back, but that’s not good at this point in pregnancy (per the doctor).  The “best” sleeping position is the left side, which allows for optimum blood flow.  When I sleep on that side, though, my hip starts hurting…so I toss and turn back and forth.  Between that, my hands falling asleep and me having to pee at least 2 times during the night, I’m up every few hours

Best moment this week: Got to see some good friends this weekend who I don’t see often…love them.  And lots and lots of baby movement.  =)

Miss Anything? Sleeping through the night.  Cocktails.   Sugar Free Red Bull

Movement:  Yes, and a lot of it….especially at night

Food cravings:  Sweets.  Egg sandwiches.  Pancakes.

Anything making you queasy or sick: Nope

Gender prediction: GIRL!!!

Labor Signs:  No, thank you.

Symptoms:  Heartburn when laying down, frequent urination, carpal tunnel.

Belly Button in or out?  In.

Wedding rings on or off?  On.

Happy or Moody most of the time:  Happy/Giddy

Looking forward to:  Having a fun weekend in Dallas with the hubs/some friends

Next appointment:  October 1st  – glucose test.

The next few weeks will be totally busy, but should be fun.  I have work in Dallas this Thursday/Friday, so Chris and I are heading down tomorrow afternoon and staying until Sunday.  We are going to try out strollers at Buy Buy Baby (we don’t have a Babys R Us or Buy Buy Baby in NW Arkansas)…I think I know what I want, but want a second opinion.  We are also going to go to IKEA and pick up the desk I want for my home office (no IKEA close either).  Have I mentioned that my amazing boss is going to let me work 100% from home now?  Exciting, but nervous about that…..will post about that later.  We are also going to do dinner with friends on Friday…..go see some roller derby….will watch the Hog game at a sports bar with some friends…dinner Saturday….etc.  Should be fun!  Chris will drive back solo on Sunday, and I’ll catch a flight to Houston, where I’ll be working for the next week.

In other news, if anyone has any suggestions on registries (what to add/what not to waste time on/etc), feel free to pass them on my way!

XOXO

Categories: football, Love of my life, Pregnancy, Uncategorized, Work | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “6 months? Are you serious? WK 23

  1. found it!!! don’t know how I lost you. But glad to see such a wonderful update.

  2. How awesome that you will be home! Is Chris still going to be a SAHD while you have office hours? That is amazing and makes me really happy for you guys.

  3. Chris is going to keep working for now. If both babies had made it he would have stayed home for sure, but with one and me being home 90% of the time it just doesn’t make sense. That being said…if we are lucky enough to have another baby rather soonish, he’ll probably be home at that point. =)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

