VIABILITY WEEK- 24

This week marks an important milestone to me- it’s viability week!  This means that Baby Hott has a chance of survival if she’s born starting this week forward.  The chance wouldn’t be great this week (around 50%), but it’s a chance!  Don’t know why this week is so important in my mind, but it is and I feel like I accomplished something grand.  =)  Now I’m waiting to hit 27 weeks, which increases the chances to closer to 90%.

Baby is the size of a cantaloupe! At week 24, your baby’s see-through skin is gradually becoming less translucent and is starting to look more opaque, like your own, but with the beauty of a new pink glow, thanks to the small capillaries that have recently formed. Plus, he’s getting heavier and now weighs 12.7 to 20.8 ounces. He’s 10.5 to 11.8 inches long now, too — nearly an entire foot!

I read a few different comparisons each week, and the Pregnant Chicken blog says that baby is the size of a footlong sub- that comparison cracks me up, I don’t know why.  I like it.  And the baby might be the size of a cantaloupe, but do you realize that the uterus is the size of a SOCCER BALL?!?  This explains why my belly is getting so big.  I’ll try to post some pics next week- now that I’m back in town I can have Chris take a few for me.  =)

How far along? 24 weeks earlier this week.  Yay viability!

Total weight gain: I really don’t know, but will find out at the doc next week.  I’m going to guess that I’m around +8-10 by then?  I feel like I’ve grown a lot over the past month…

Maternity clothes? Yes, and I love them.  They are comfy, and the shirts actually make the belly look more pregnant and less fat.  I like that.  =)

Stretch marks? No new ones yet.

Sleep: I am not sleeping well, but not due to baby.  Pretty sure I have sprung my shoulder or something…it’s bad.  I’m in a lot of pain and can’t put any weight on it at all, which means no sleeping on my left side (which is ideal for blood flow for the baby).  I went to the chiro today and will ice over the weekend and see if that helps….

Best moment this week: Chris got to feel baby last night when I got back in town!  I had felt her move on Tuesday when I was taking a bath (it shocked me, as her kick literally lifted my iPad off of my belly….yes, I play on my iPad in the bathtub), but I thought it was a fluke and maybe she was just in a really weird position.  So….last night when we were cuddling on the couch I felt her kicking around and grabbed Chris’s hand and BAM…hard kick.  Felt a lot of love at that moment and was just so excited to share it with Chris.  Shit just got real!

Miss Anything? Sleeping is all I miss….loving everything

Movement:  TONS.  She is very active….which concerns me a little bit for when she’s actually born, lol.  I love feeling her all day.  She’s most active at night…or maybe it’s just that I can focus on the movement more when I lay down?

Food cravings: Pretty much anything sweet…especially pancakes.

Anything making you queasy or sick: Nope

Gender prediction: Boobs, not balls.

Labor Signs: No, thank you.  I did have a few concerning moments this week (probably TMI for you, but had some weird discharge and then some bleeding- all in one day) when I was out of town, but it went away after one day so I feel ok about it.  Will tell doc next week, just to be safe.

Symptoms: Heartburn at night, no matter what I eat or when (but Tums makes it all better) and lots of peeing.

Belly Button in or out? In, but Chris did comment last night that it’s more ‘shallow’ now….

Wedding rings on or off? On

Happy or Moody Happy

Looking forward to: Long sleeves all the time….Halloween……eating fall food (like chili)….

Next appointment: Tuesday, Oct 1st- glucose test.

Categories: Kids, Love of my life, Pregnancy, Uterus | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “VIABILITY WEEK- 24

  1. Sara

    It was so great to see you, Chris, and the little cantaloupe this weekend! Totally loving the joy coming out of you and this blog these days 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

