Glucose Test- the call

Well shit.  Got a call today, and my blood test came back a little high.  =(  I guess the ‘normal’ range is 65-135, and I came back at 145.  I’m hoping that the fact that I’ve only gained 3 lbs and that I’m measuring right on track means that I’ll be just fine, but we’ll see.

 

What does this mean?  I go back next week (Tuesday) for a 3 hour test.  I fast after midnight…show up at 8am and drink the orange drink….an hour later I give blood…an hour after that I give blood again…and an hour after that I give blood again.  Hopefully this test will NOT be high!  Otherwise, I will get diagnosed with Gestational Diabetes and most likely have to be on some sort of reduced carbs/sugar food plan for the rest of the pregnancy.  Not fun.  Everyone keep me in your thoughts/prayers, please!

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Glucose Test- the call

  1. Melissa Werner

    Poor Jen. It will be okay regardless, but I know you don’t want to have Gestational Diabetes. You didn’t test extremely high so I think that’s a good sign. I tested just within normal range at maybe 130 – so I passed. Thank goodness! I’ll be thinking of you.

    Sent from Melissa’s iPhone…

  2. not fun! I heard a lot of people fail the first test though but totally pass the second test. I hope you are in that group! The holidays are coming up and …. that would suck.

  3. Lisa

    Well poop. I do have several friends who have had to go in for the 3 hour test because they were a little high on the 1 hour test and most have “passed” the 3 hour one. Still what a freakin’ pain. Hope you have a good book to read! 😛

  4. Boo! So sorry pal! I’ve also heard of plenty of people that passed the 3 hour test after being high on the 1 hour. Hate that you have to be poked and prodded all day for it though. Here’s hoping for good results!

  5. Heather

    How did the second test go? I hope it came out okay, even though I’m sure it is a pain in the butt.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

