Some good news…and WK 28

So I’ve been dreading this trip to Texas for a while, but it has ended up being great so far. It’s my last pre-baby work trip, so I’ve been looking forward to getting it over with!  It usually takes me about 6.5 hours to make the trip, but this time it took me about a full hour longer because I had to stop and pee so many times.  And I wasn’t even drinking b/c I knew it’d make it worse!  Oh well, I made it.

I got to the office this morning, and the comments from people have just been so sweet and positive.  This is the first time I’ve been here since I really LOOK pregnant, and people are really taking notice.  I have felt like I’ve gotten huge, but I’ve had comments such as “you are tiny” and “you are all belly” which just has me grinning from ear to ear like a lunatic.  These people probably say this to everyone (it’s like when someone gets a hair cut and you say oh, I like your hair cut….when you may not), but to someone who hasn’t been around a lot of people lately it’s sure nice to hear that I may not look at big as I feel!

I met with the HR director this morning to get the forms that I’ll need to fax in once the baby arrives…and I got the best news ever.  Several months ago, I was incredibly bummed when I met with her and found out that our company policy doesn’t provide for any maternity leave at 100% paid.  I was told I could take up to 6-8 weeks (depending on delivery method) and use whatever sick leave/vacation time I had (which would be 6 weeks at the beginning of the year) during that time in order to not miss any checks, but that was it.  It wasn’t the end of the world, but I was bummed.  I took our CFO to lunch that week and we talked about it…he’s a very sweet older man, and he seemed pretty bummed about the deal as well.  Fast forward a few months to today, and my HR director tells me that my CFO has gotten our company policy changed so that non-exempt, salaried employees (of which I am the ONLY female)…as of January 1st 2014….will get 6-8 weeks (depending on delivery method) of paid time off for maternity leave.  I can then use any vacation and sick leave I have on top of this if I want…meaning I can take 11-13 weeks at 100% pay.  Wow, that’s a lot of details.  I am so relieved…and blessed!  I’ve been stressing about this for a while, so now I can relax about it.  It’s been a good morning.

We had our second 3D scan (since the first one was a bust with Miss Hott being uncooperative) last Friday, and it was much better.  It was confirmed AGAIN (for the 4th time, lol) that she is a girl, so I’m feeling good about that.  =)  And everything looks good/healthy/right on track.  It was a little hard to see her super clearly because she had her feet up by her head and the umbilical cord was floating in front of her face a lot, but we did get a few pics, which I will post below.  She looks like any other baby, really…..but at least she looks like a baby now!  Yay!!

And now, your weekly update:

eggplant

Baby is the size of an eggplant! At week 28, he is putting on layers
of fat and still weighs somewhere between 1.5 and 2.2 pounds. He measures
around 13.6 to 14.8 inches. His skin has a smoother and less wrinkled
appearance too. And his lungs are mature enough that he could probably breathe
on his own if he were born prematurely. Plus, his eyes, which can now open and
close, can sense changes to light as well. The groundwork for his vision has been
laid, but baby’s sight will actually continue to develop during infancy after
he’s born. Still, those blinking peepers are something to get excited
over!

How far along? 28 weeks.  Doesn’t sound that impressive, but when I say I only have 12 weeks left, that blows my mind!  12 weeks!  That goes soooo fast.  Seriously.  Where has the time gone?!?

Total weight gain: I still haven’t weighed myself, but I have an appointment next week…so we shall see. I’m guessing I’ll be up a total of 7 to 10 pounds.  I really feel like I’ve grown a lot recently.

Maternity clothes? Yes, anytime I’m in public.

Stretch marks? No new ones.

Sleep: Not well, which is my only complaint.  I go to bed around 11 and get up probably 3 times to pee before I get up for the day.  In between that, I wake up about every hour or hour and half to roll over.  I’ll start on one side, but then my hip starts aching and wakes me up and I have to switch sides. This goes on and on all night.  At least my hands are not falling asleep anymore since I have been wearing the carpal tunnel wrist braces!

Best moment this week: Had a 3D scan on Friday, and Baby Hott was very active this time….so cool to get to see her.  She looks just like any other baby to me, but it’s still cool to see the actual human form in my belly.  Some pics below.  Also, got the closet in the nursery all set-up as far as shelves go, so excited to start organizing that.  And the news about my maternity leave was huge….so happy about that.

Miss Anything? Solid sleep

Movement: At least every couple of hours.  I actually got really stressed out last Saturday because I hadn’t felt her move all day/evening….but then she woke me up around 2 am with a few swift kicks to the vagina.  Yes, that’s a thing.  And yes, it doesn’t feel good.  BUT….I was so relieved to feel her at that point that I didn’t mind.

Food cravings: All things sweet.  Guilty confession of the week- on the drive to Tyler, TX yesterday I bought some of those Little Debbie ‘Donut Sticks’ at a gas station.  So so so bad for me…but OMG they were delicious.

Anything making you queasy or sick: I’ve realized that any fast food chicken kinda grosses me out.  I tried some chicken strips from Arby’s early on in the pregnancy and spit those out.   I got some chicken nuggets from Wendy’s the other day (which I love) and thought I was gonna puke before I could spit those out as well.  Weird, I know.  So, I’m just avoiding all fast food chicken.  Not a bad thing, really. At least the chicken on the salads at Zaxby’s still sits well….

Gender prediction: Baby Girl!  OMG, one of my pregnant friends that I email with (we found each other on an infertility site when we each had IUIs within a day of each other) just found out….at 28 weeks…that her girl is a BOY!  I feel so bad for her.  Not because it’s a boy, because he’ll be great and she’ll love him just as much, but because she was told it was  girl for months and it changed.  I can’t imagine.  =(

Labor Signs: None

Symptoms: Fatigue, frequent urination, sciatic nerve pain (think that is my issue with my hips at night) and heartburn at night when I lay down.

Belly Button in or out? In, but definitely shallow.  I have a feeling it’ll end up popping out, which I didn’t think it would since I’ve always had a chunky belly.  We shall see…

Wedding rings on or off? They fit, but I can tell they are tighter.

Happy or Moody most of the time: Annoyingly happy, I’m sure.

Looking forward to: Hopefully finishing the nursery in November…baby showers in November…and my next ultrasound in November.

Next appointment: Next Tuesday, for the rH shot.  Ugh.

 

Finley 3D Oct

Finley 3D Oct 2

This one is of her legs crossed- such a lady.  Wonder where she gets that?

Finley 3D Oct legs

Categories: Blog Games, Infertility, Insurance, IUI, Kids, Pregnancy, Ultrasound, vacation, Work | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Some good news…and WK 28

  1. Sara

    so cute! what great news about maternity leave 🙂

  2. WOW! Your employer rocks!! What stress relief to have that! 🙂

  3. YAY! That is so awesome about the maternity leave news. I’m (as always) so happy for you.
    And the ‘sex change’ thing happened to my sister. She was told at her appointment that she was having a boy and it wasn’t until she had to go in for a minor surgery that they did another scan and she was told ‘your daughter is doing just fine…’ This was one month before delivery. 😉

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

