39 Weeks down…

I don’t really have too much to say this week!  It’s been a productive one as far as baby stuff goes (packed the hospital bag, made some post-delivery ‘panty sundaes’ to put in the freezer and bought just about every single thing I could possibly think that I might need for those first few weeks).  Are some of you scratching your head about the panty sundaes?  Or even just cringing at the word panty?  LOL.  They are something I read about online the help ease the pain/etc from vaginal deliveries.  It’s possible that I may never use them (if I end up with a c-section for some reason), but I thought that I might as well make some just in case.  What is a panty sundae/what’s in it?  I made mine like this:

  1. I took a ginormous (long/heavy flow) pad and spread about a teaspoon of aloe vera gel on the top
  2. On top of that, I took a tablespoon or two of witch hazel and poured it over the aloe gel/pad
  3. I then wrapped each pad individually in foil and put into the freezer
  4. When it’s time to use them (when home from hospital), you take one out as needed and top it with epifoam (which is a numbing agent) and BAM.  Panty sundae.

 

May sound silly, but the craziness a vagina goes through  top push out a little (or big) nugget is not funny at all.  I’ll try anything to heal!

 

The only other thing I really want to try to do over the next week is make some freezer meals…or at least cook some chicken/taco meat/etc and freeze it to help with meals after Baby Hott is here.  I don’t have a lot of energy and don’t know if I’ll get around to it…but I’m going to try by golly.

This week’s update:

Baby keeps growing, despite being so crowded in there. He probably weighs around 6.2 to 9.2 pounds and measures about 18.9 to 20.9 inches. He’s probably able to flex his limbs now.  His brain is still rapidly developing — he’s getting smarter by the week! His nails may extend past his fingertips.

How far along? 39 weeks, but baby measured at 40 weeks today.  I asked the doc if that means she’s big and he just said it’s normal to measure up or down a week so I went with it.

Total weight gain: Up a lb (I think it MIGHT have been the boots I was wearing), so total weight gain so far = +15lbs

Maternity clothes? Yes, any time I leave the house.

Stretch marks?  No new ones that I can see.  But there is a LOT of my body I can’t really see too well right now!

Sleep:  Fuck…I don’t wanna talk about it.

Best moment this week: Spent NYE with some good friends and had a great time!

Miss Anything? Besides sleep?  Not much.  Having energy.

Movement:  Yes.  I have noticed that she moves most when I’m laying down and no one is talking.  If I’m talking it’s like she doesn’t want to miss anything or gets shy.  But as soon as I lay in bed and it’s quiet….she goes nuts!  Lots and lots of kicks to the right ribs lately.

Food cravings:  Sweets.

Anything making you queasy or sick: Some smells have been bothering me lately, but not to the point of puking or anything.

Gender prediction: Girl

Labor Signs:  1 cm dilated…braxton hicks contractions.  Don’t THINK I’m having any for real contractions yet, but who knows…this is all new to me.

Symptoms:  Frequent urination.  Sciatic nerve pain. Shortness of breath.  Lack of energy.  Nesting.

Belly Button in or out?  Out when I stand, in when I sit.

Wedding rings on or off?  On, but tighter every day.

Happy or Moody most of the time:  Happy!  And starting to get a little nervous.

Looking forward to:  Knowing “this is it”

Next appointment: Wednesday, January 15th…..my due date and my DH’s b-day!

Categories: Blog Games, Pregnancy | Tags: , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “39 Weeks down…

  1. Lisa

    Holy hell, this is definitely the first I’ve heard of panty sundaes! Guess that’s the kind of stuff you don’t bother reading when you know you’ll be having C-sections! Seems freakin’ brilliant! So great that you made it to 39 weeks…full term babies are way easier than preemies (sample size = 2). Wishing you the best with delivery and adjusting to your new life as a mommy! If I lived closer I would definitely be dropping off some post-baby food for ya!…hope some folks in town take care of you! xoxo

    • Thanks, Lisa! I wish you were here local….not (just) for the post-baby food, but for mommy advice and company! I know I could learn a lot from you!

  2. Sara

    Almost there! 39 weeks, wow… can’t wait to virtually meet her 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

