40 Weeks- Fully Cooked!

We did it folks….we made it to 40 weeks (full term) without any hiccups.  Baby Hott is thriving in my womb and momma is still feeling pretty decent.  Such a blessing.  Now that we’ve accomplished this, let’s get the show on the road!  I’m ready to meet this kid!

I had an appointment yesterday on my due date and was a little disappointed to discover that I hadn’t made any progress towards going into labor.  I was at a -3 station (meaning baby is still pretty high/not engaged), 1 cm dilated and 60% effaced.  No change since last time.  I’ve been saying for a while that I just don’t feel like this baby is going to come on her own accord, and I still feel like that will most likely be the case.  Sooooo…..doc has decided that if she doesn’t come this weekend/early next week, we will induce on Wednesday when I am 41 weeks.  I told him I was comfortable going longer, but he doesn’t like to go over 41 weeks.  So January 22nd is her eviction date if she doesn’t choose to come on her own beforehand…..and I’m betting Jan 22nd will be her b-day.  =)

Does induction bother me?  No.  Does the thought of a c-section bother me?  No.  How about a vaginal birth?  Nope.  You know what DOES bother me?  Tons of people I know (and don’t know) telling me how they want my labor and delivery to go.  I’ve heard it all (some all from the same person, which means there is no way I can do it the way she wants/prefers) so far.  “Oh, I hope you have a c-section like me so that you don’t mess up your lady business.”  “Oh, I hope you have a vaginal birth so that you can experience that pushing and bonding that I did…nothing like it.”  “Oh, I sure hope you don’t have to be induced, I’ve just heard horror stories about that.”  “Oh, I hate that you are going over your due date…..hope your baby isn’t too big and you have to push her out!”  I mean seriously, people.  Shut the fuck up.  The truth is, there are horror stories that go along with EVERY SINGLE WAY OF DELIVERING.  Truth is, I would love a chunky, healthy baby.  Truth is, there are major advantages to each method of delivery.  Truth is….as long as me and Baby Hott end up healthy, I’ll be the happiest girl on the block.  So maybe think before you speak sometimes…especially when telling horror stories or giving your two cents on what you want for us when I literally could go into labor at any moment.

You know what I am concerned about?  Being induced and having a really long and tough labor and THEN and up having to have a c-section.  This is a real concern of mine and it’s a real possibility with induction.  You just never know how your body is going to react when you are trying to trick it into doing something that it naturally does on its own.  I’ve heard great stories, and I’ve heard terrible ones (note that MOST of the time when you hear a story it’s horrific…the normal ones and great ones don’t get shared as much for some reason), so who knows.  The thought of working so hard to push this child out…going through the mental and physical challenges….and then having it not work and ending up with surgery (and recovery from BOTH vs just one) would be a big bummer and a literal pain.  So fingers crossed that doesn’t happen.

I’m also concerned about friends/family at the hospital during/after delivery.  The whole thought of who is coming up and when and how long they will stay just really stresses me out.  I know my mind might change when I’m there and all, but as of right now I really just don’t feel like I’m going to want company for a while.  I DEFINTELY don’t want company when I’m in labor (anyone…period) and without an epidural.  After I’ve had an epidural, I might not mind a person or two stopping in, especially if it’s a long process…..but I just don’t know.  One thing I DO know is that I do NOT want company for a while after the baby is delivered.  I want that time for me and Chris and baby.  I want that time to bond…to try to breast feed…to remember the moment.  The last thing I want is to watch from my hospital room as my new baby gets passed around from person to person during flu season.  I hate that thought so much.  I would take the whole evening if I could, but I’d feel too guilty doing that.  Heck, I feel guilty just saying I’m going to take an hour or two!  Everyone says “do what you want…your the mom and it’s your baby,” but that doesn’t mean they won’t get their feelings hurt or think I’m being crazy.  It’s really a tough decision.

So what’s my plan?  I’m just going to tell people who I’ll text them when I’m ready for them to come up or come to my house or whatever.  And I’m going to post a sign on the door that says no visitors…and yes, unless you’ve received a text from me asking you to come up, THIS MEANS YOU.  I know you may be my sister…or my mom..or my close friend…or my in-law…..but yes, this means you too.  I don’t really know how else to handle it without you showing up and me having to tell you to leave and then feeling awful about it and probably hurting both of our feelings, ya know?  So I’m being clear up front in all my texts and communications…we’ll see how it goes!  If you do show up and there is no sign on the door, then come on in.  But if you show up and the sign is there and you didn’t get a text from me, don’t text me and be like “I’m here!”  Cause what spot does that put me in?  awkward….

Anyway, on one hand I feel like I’m being reasonable and focusing on what is important to me and my child…and on the other hand I just feel bad because I know so many people are just so excited and can’t wait to meet this little girl!  It’s frustrating.

In other news, I’m huge.  If you don’t believe me, just ask the lady at WalGreens who said “Wow!  Are you about to pop or what?”  Or the lady at WM this week who wanted to know how overdue I was.  Or the girl at the movies who said “How many you got in that thing?”  I shit you not.  People just don’t think sometimes.

That’s the latest…and now for the 40 week update!

Week 36 preggo pic from alpha mom

Baby is who knows how big…it’s just a guess at this point.  Feel free to comment your guess if you want….I’m thinking if I have her next week she’ll be around 8 lbs and 12 oz.  Big.  She feels big.  Who knows.  I also bet she’ll be bald.  We shall see…

How far along? 40 weeks, which she measured at during the appointment on Wednesday.  Fully Cooked.  Ready to go.

Total weight gain: No change, so total weight gain so far = +15lbs.  I should note that my belly has really grown, though….so not sure how the lbs are not going up.  It’s weird.

Maternity clothes? Yes, any time I leave the house.

Stretch marks?  Man, I spotted a few this week.  I thought I was going to get off without getting any, but not looking like it.

Sleep:  Not well.  Better if I have the bed to myself (poor hubby), but still up at least every 2 hours….and usually ever hour-hour and a half.

Best moment this week: Reaching my due date with a healthy baby girl.

Miss Anything? Besides sleep?  Not much.  Having energy.

Movement:  Yes, but it’s slowed down A LOT over the past week or so.  I think she’s crowded in there.  Still getting the movement minimums so that I don’t have to worry, but definitely less than last few weeks.

Food cravings:  Sweets.  Orange rolls from Crumpet Tea Room.

Anything making you queasy or sick: Not really.

Gender prediction: She better come out a girl!

Labor Signs:  1 cm dilated and 60% effaced, still.  This girl is comfy and snug as a bug….don’t think she’ll be coming on her own anytime soon.

Symptoms: Frequent urination.  Sciatic nerve pain. Shortness of breath.  Lack of energy.  Nesting.

Belly Button in or out?  Out when I stand, in when I sit.

Wedding rings on or off?  On, but tighter every day.

Happy or Moody most of the time:  Happy, but tired….

Looking forward to:  Meeting a perfect baby girl within the next 6 days!

Next appointment: Monday, January 20th.

Categories: Blog Games, Pregnancy | Tags: , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “40 Weeks- Fully Cooked!

  1. Lisa

    Totally reasonable of you to want to keep that little bundle to yourselves for awhile when she arrives! Seriously, don’t worry about hurting other people’s feelings! Everyone who has been there will understand and everyone who hasn’t will think your crazy sooner or later (b/c your a mom now and we can do some ridiculous ass shit) so why not get what you want now! 🙂 We had a random neighbor come visit within hours of Hannah being born (after I’d gone to the hospital in a freakin’ ambulance)…I was pretty pissed. I would’ve been happy to see people about 2 days post-op personally, but no one besides family or VERY close friends any earlier than that! Love you lady and hoping it goes as smoothly as possible! Congrats on making it to full term!

    • THANK YOU, Lisa! Makes me feel better to have someone second my feelings on this….my mom makes me feel like I’m a crazy person. Can’t wait til you come to town next time and can meet her!

  2. Sara

    I’ve gone to see my SIL and best friend pretty much right after delivery, and even from a visitor perspective it’s awkward! To know they just birthed babies…. I dunno. I would have totally understood if they had said to wait awhile to visit, so do not feel bad setting people’s expectations.

    As a 22 lover, I’m excited for a 1/22 birth date, although I will be even more overjoyed if she decides to come before then on her own. However the birth goes, I wish you guys luck!

  3. I let people come after B had met the girls. I didn’t really mind it. I wouldn’t even have minded having a birth photographer. In face, I did get super pissed when I realized that there was only ONE photo of me holding T in the hospital and all these photos of everyone else, even friends, holding her. I made sure that crap didn’t happen again!!

    I hope it is quick and painless as possible with a fast recovery and everyone perfect in every way. ♥♥♥

  4. Paige

    I need to be more vocal about not wanting visitors right away too. I have told my husband (mainly because it will be my MIL who I am sure is going to be the problem) I love the no visitors sign. I may steel it

  5. I am so happy for you! and I can’t believe its been 9 months already! I wish you lots of luck, i totally agree with you about the people…but having not gone through it yet myself I have no advice for you! But yea to a happy healthy birth for all of you!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

