Ten Weeks/2 Months

Fin 2 months smile and slobber

Holy hell I have a cute baby, don’t I?  Seriously.  I look at her in awe half of the time and am like “how the hell did this happen?”  I’m so in love.  I guess I should start this post off by admitting that I’m a horrible blogger now that I have a child.  I realize this, and I apologize.  I think of posts I want to write, but when I have a free moment to myself I find that cleaning..doing laundry…showering..eating…working…paying bills/etc all take priority.  I’m sure I’ll get better as my days get more predictable and Finely naps for longer periods of time, but for now I just suck.  Deal with it.

A fellow blogger (http://prettycuteovaries.wordpress.com/) is doing the below list for her newborn and I love it…so I’m stealing it for my updates.  Hope you don’t mind!

What are your stats and what does the doctor say?

At the two month checkup Finley weighed 11 lbs 4 oz (63rd percentile for her age) and was 23 3/4 in long (93rd percentile).  I was shocked that she didn’t weigh more with as much as she eats, but maybe she’ll chunk up soon (I hope so…love me a fat baby!).   I knew she was long, but I didn’t realize that she was like SUPER long for her age.  It’s really made her ‘slim up’ in a ways…and now she’s too long for almost all of her 0-3 month clothes (one-pieces)!  Fin got 3 shots at her appointment and did great (although she did scream for about a full minute).  Doctor said everything looks perfect and we don’t have to go back til her 4 month appt.

What are you eating?

Finley is exclusively breastfed at this point.  She likes momma’s booby juice (as my bff’s kids call it)..and I have plenty of it!  We had some issues with her getting pretty gassy and fussy, so I gave up dairy about a month ago and that seems to have helped (who really knows…could just be she’s getting older and her body is figuring things out finally).  I’m pumping milk at night some so that I have a little freedom, and Finley takes these bottles DOWN….loves them.  Let me just say- breastfeeding is one of the hardest things I’ve done.  It is JUST now over the past couple of weeks enjoyable to me.  It was really tough at first, but I’m so glad that I stuck through it and am able to provide the little nugget with what she needs.  As of now, I’m thinking I’ll probably exclusively breastfeed until at least 5-6 months.  When she starts solids we shall see…

When do you eat and sleep?

During the day Finley eats every 3 hours.  At night, it’s every 3-4 hours…and sometimes she’ll throw in a 4.5-5 hour stretch (not common yet).  Naps during the day (there are about 5 of them) range from about 30 minutes to 1.5 hours depending on the time.  She naps and sleeps in her crib, swaddled.  See below under routines for more details…

Fin asleep in crib

What do your routines look like?

We have joined the BabyWise (it’s a book…get it if you are expecting, you won’t regret it) philosophy of Eat-Play-Sleep.  I had been told to read the book by about 3 people….and after having a couple of rough weeks early on I decided that I’d give it a shot.  So glad I did!  Overall, the book taught me how to structure Finley’s eat/play/sleep routine to fit her age and our needs.  It’s constantly changing, but it’s a good guide on what to shoot for.  Here is our current schedule-

  • Wake at 7:30-8am and feed
  • Play (tummy time/lay around and kick/swing time/etc) for about an hour
  • Nap
  • 10:30- wake from nap and feed
  • Play
  • Nap
  • 1:30- wake from nap and feed
  • Play
  • Nap
  • 4:30- wake from nap and feed
  • Play
  • Nap
  • 7:00- wake from nap and feed
  • Bath/Story time/etc
  • 9- feed and straight to bed
  • Two nightime feeds…usually around 1 and 4 or 5

You may think I’m crazy for trying to be so regimented, but I need this for a couple of reasons.  1- this has taught Fin what to expect.  Seriously.  She use to fight us to go down for any/all naps, and now she just rolls into our arms to rock and closes her eyes (MOST of the time, she’s not perfect).  2-  since I’m working from home and have Fin here, I have to have an idea of when I can schedule conference calls/projects/etc.  So far this is working pretty well.  The next step will be to merge the night time feeds into just one….then we’ll start cutting out some of the cat naps.  We shall see….but for now I’m a Baby Wise Believer.

What size clothes and diapers are you wearing?

If it’s a one-piece with legs, Fin is in 3-6 months because of her length.  Otherwise, she can still wear 0-3.  She’s still in a size 1 diaper at this point.  We are actually starting cloth diapers next week (I’ve been waiting for her to get a little more meat on her bones, lol)…wish me luck!  I’ll post about it sometime soon…

What are some things you love?

Her favorite thing to do is to eat and lay on mommy.  She also has recently really started to enjoy laying down on the floor (or couch) and kicking her legs and looking around.  She loves her hands…always trying to put them in her mouth.  She’s started to enjoy the playmat on the ground as well, which is fun.  Fin also likes bathing with mommy…but not without.  And she LOVES being in the ERGO carrier.  When I’ve taken her to WM or Sam’s I’ve had her in it…and she just looks around at the lights and people and then passes out and sleeps the rest of the time.

Fin in the Ergo

Handsy Fin

What are some things you don’t love?

Diaper changes before you have eaten or in the middle of the night.  Getting out of the bath tub.  Getting lubed up after a bath.  Having to wait to eat once you’ve decided you are hungry.  Car rides if you don’t have someone in the back with you.

What can you do?

I have a very talented baby (of course, lol)- this girl can roll over from her belly to her back already!  She did it at 8 weeks and I thought it was a fluke…but then she would do it every time we put her on her belly, so I guess it’s gonna stick!  Finley is great at tummy time and can hold her whole upper body up.  She can giggle…bat her toys on the playmat…hold a blanket while nursing…cooo..smile…talk a little bit once engaged….more and more stuff every day!  I have tons of videos showcasing her talents on Instagram…feel free to follow me at jen.hottinger so you can see for yourself.  =)

Fin up on arms

Who has visited and watched you?

Our family has been really great about visiting and we’ve had a few friends that have made an effort to come out.  I’ve been a little disappointed with a few folks who haven’t made it out or put forth much effort, but oh well..things like having a baby really show you a lot about people I suppose.  Chris and I haven’t been out together yet, but I’m hoping we can do a date night soon and have Aunt Mickey babysit.

What are some of your nicknames?

Behind her back I call her ‘the titsucker’ a lot (awful, I know).  I also call her Claire Bear…or booger…or drama queen.

What are we looking forward to in the next month?

Everything.  Seriously…this past month has been the best ever of my life.  Fin is changing every single day and it’s just getting better and better and I’m enjoying things more and more.  At times I’m like “I can’t wait til Fin can do this,” and then I remember it’ll happen before I know it and I should just enjoy the moment.

Finley at grans Finley naked baby

Categories: Baby, Love of my life, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Ten Weeks/2 Months

  1. I can’t wait to meet her and see y’all next month. It is so far away, but I am sure it will be here before I know it!!! We did Baby Wise too – more so with Hayden than Harper. She seemed easier in terms of the routine – also, our life had a routine and it was more like she just had to fit into our life because we couldn’t change everything to suit her. It sounds like you have a good handle on things. Awesome! Is working at home going well? I hope so. Take care and I’ll talk with you later!

  2. Sara

    sounds like I need to add this book to my list! Thanks for the update 🙂

  3. She is so precious!

    I’ve been a terrible blogger in that I haven’t commented on anyone’s blog much lately…busy mommy life! But wanted you to know I always look forward to your updates! She is a beauty!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

